Alumni Spotlight

FIU Alumni Board of Directors elects new president, officers and welcomes five new board members

FIU Alumni 2024-2025 Executive Committee
FIU Alumni 2024-2025 Executive Committee

The FIU Alumni Board of Directors has formally elected Sean Gazitúa ‘04 to serve as president for the 2024-2026 board years, along with new officers and five new directors.

Joining the Executive Committee with President Gazitúa is Vice President Manny Niebla ‘05, Secretary Lemar White ‘06, Membership Relations Sylvia Fumero ‘91, Fund Development Barbara Yvonne Debesa ‘82, M.Acc ‘94  and Parliamentarian Brittany Juliachs ‘07, JD ‘11. Juan Carlos Alexander, Esq., ‘04 will remain on the board as the Immediate Past President.

Joining the FIU Alumni Board of Directors are:

  • Erbi Blanco-True ‘10 with Banesco USA
  • Dr. Vignesh Doraiswamy ‘10 with The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
  • Griselle Pastor ‘03 with Doctors Hospital
  • Dimitry Prophete ‘20 and ‘21 with Goldman Sachs
  • Nikki Spoelstra ‘10 with The Know, LLC

“As I embark on this journey with the FIU Alumni Board, I am filled with excitement and enthusiasm for the opportunities that lie ahead. I’m eager to further our mission of strengthening the bonds within our alumni community, which is one of the largest and fastest growing in this North America,” shared Gazitúa.  

Gazitua serves as the President and CEO of WTDC, a Miami-based logistics infrastructure company providing worldwide logistics supply chain management, Foreign Trade Zone & U.S. Customs bonded warehousing, international and domestic transportation management, inventory control and fulfillment.  WTDC supports FIU students by way of an internship program and scholarship fund for College of Business students. Sean was appointed to the Adrienne Arsht Center Trust Board of Directors in 2022 and has been a longtime leadership volunteer for Sigma Phi Epsilon Alumni & Volunteer Corporation, most recently serving as Vice President. Gazitúa has served on the FIU Alumni Board of Directors since 2018.  

Sara DuCuennois, Associate Vice President for Alumni Relations, applauds Gazitua’s years of service and welcomed him to the new role as president.  

“Our volunteers assume a significant responsibility to represent our alumni community. We are thrilled to see our board grow and elevate their work to not only help move FIU forward, but also to be of service to our alumni—our largest constituency group at the university. Sean is a shining example of a proud Panther who gives his time, talent and treasure to his alma mater.”

FIU Alumni Board Officers: 

Sean P. Gazitúa ‘04 | President 

Manuel A. Niebla ‘05 | Vice President 

Barbara Yvonne Debesa ’82, MAcc. ’94 | Fund Development 

Sylvia M. Fumero ’91 | Membership Relations 

Lemar T. White ’06 | Secretary 

Brittany M. Juliachs ’07, JD ‘11| Parliamentarian 

Juan Carlos Alexander, Esq. ‘04 | Immediate Past President 


Arman Aru ’09 

Wendy Barba ’02 

Erbi Blanco-True, MBA ’10  

Donovan A. Campbell ’00 

Corey P. Cohen ’85 

Alex Corzo ’04 

Juan F. D’Arce ’05 

Daniel J. Denis ‘07 

Dr. Vignesh I. Doraiswamy ’10  

Thomas B. Jelke, Ph.D. ’90 

Nichole L. Kalil ’01 

Alexander Kuk ’04, M.S. ’10 

Griselle Pastor ’03  

Sandra Perez ’94 

Dimitry Prophete ’20, MBA ’21  

Dustin R. Rivest ’10 

Nikki M. Spoelstra ’10  

Brian E. Swensen ’10 

Malik O. Wilkes ’08 

Isaura P. Velez Mendez ’14 

Leave a Reply