Florida State Rep. Jeanette Nuñez named to National Assessment Governing Board

Florida state Rep. Jeanette Nuñez has been appointed to serve a four-year term on the National Assessment Governing Board, U.S. Secretary of Education John King announced today. Five other Board members — four of them reappointees — were announced as well, with their terms beginning Oct. 1, 2016.

Nuñez, who was elected into Florida’s House of Representatives in 2010, will serve in the role of Republican state legislator on the Governing Board, which sets policy for the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), also known as The Nation’s Report Card. NAEP is the country’s largest nationally representative assessment of student achievement in a variety of subjects.

“We are elated to have Jeanette join the Board,” Governing Board Chair Terry Mazany said. “Her dedication to her community and ongoing commitment as a lawmaker in such an important state will play a critical role in maintaining the high quality of The Nation’s Report Card.”

Nuñez has represented Florida’s District 119, based in northern Miami-Dade County, since 2012, and she represented the county’s District 112 from 2010 to 2012. Before being elected to the state legislature, Nuñez received various accolades for her community service. In 2007, Nuñez was named a Hispanic Woman of Distinction of South Florida for her volunteerism and dedication to her community. In 2008, she was asked to serve on the Florida Hospital Association Uninsured Taskforce and participated in the National Association of Public Hospitals Fellows Program, where she was recognized as a “national success story” for her commitment and advocacy efforts.

Nuñez joins a group of governors, state legislators, local and state school officials, educators and researchers, business representatives and members of the general public who make up the Governing Board. In addition to Nuñez, others appointed this year are listed below, along with their hometown, appointment role and official title. The term for each member will run through Sept. 30, 2020.

  • Rebecca Gagnon, Minneapolis – local school board member; treasurer of the Minneapolis Public Schools Board of Education; Governing Board member since 2012
  • Andrew Ho, Boston – testing and measurement expert; professor at the Harvard Graduate School of Education; Governing Board member since 2012
  • Terry Mazany, Chicago – general public representative; president and CEO of The Chicago Community Trust; Governing Board member since 2012 and chair since 2014
  • Joseph O’Keefe, New York City – nonpublic school administrator or policymaker; visiting professor at Fordham University; Governing Board member since 2012
  • Alice Peisch, Wellesley, Massachusetts – Democratic state legislator; state representative for the 14th Norfolk District

The Governing Board is now accepting nominations for terms that begin October 2017, for these positions: an elementary school principal, two general public representatives and a testing and measurement expert. To learn more and submit a nomination, visit Nominations are due by Oct. 28, 2016.

Leave a Reply